Key stage 3

Year 7

The year begins with students learning about file management and the school network. During the autumn terms students will develop understanding of e-safety, how to stay safe online, cyber bullying, basic spreadsheet skills and data modelling.

In the spring terms students develop database skills, data handling and understanding of the development of computers systemschool.

In the summer terms, students develop basic programming skills through the use of Scratch.

Year 8

Students begin the year developing their understanding of their digital footprint and how to be a good cyber citizen. During the autumn term they will learn to create and edit their own sound files using Audacity.

In the spring term students learn to create and edit video using Movie Maker, create digital images and animation.

The summer term students develop basic HTML coding skills to develop a website incorporating the sound and video products produced in previous terms and learn basic Python coding.

Key stage 4

The ICT department provides the flexibility of allowing students to study Computer Science and/or ICT.

AQA GCSE Computer Science                    

The new computer science specification gives the students an insight into how the computer works, how they are programmed and are used to problem solve.

The specification allows the student to develop:

Computational thinking and problem solving techniques;

Develop practical programming skills in a real world context;

Understand what hardware and software are;

Fundamentals of networks, cyber security and data representation;

Ethical, legal and environmental impacts of digital technology on wider society, including issues of privacy.

The specification comprises of two exams and one non-exam assessment.

Paper one – Computational Thinking and Problem Solving, externally assessed (40%)

Paper two – Written exam, externally assessed (40%)

Non-exam assessment, internally assessed (20%).


BCS ECDL Certificate in IT Application Skills 

ECDL equips students with the skills to use a computer confidently and effectively, building on existing knowledge and motivating further learning.

The specification consists of four level 2 units of work.  Those are:

Unit 1 – Word Processing;

Unit 2 – Spreadsheet software;

Unit 3 – Presentation software;

Unit 4 – Improving productivity Using ICT.

Unit 1, 2 and 3 are internally assessed units and unit 4 is externally assessed.

Each unit is graded a Pass, Merit or Distinction.